FiCLA - Suomen kognitiivisen kielentutkimuksen yhdistys


    Articles of FiCLA



Finnish Cognitive Linguistics Association FiCLA

The association was founded in Stockholm, Sweden, on 14 July 1999, and its first annual meeting was held at the Finnish Conference of Linguistics, Oulu, Finland, on 20 May 2000. The association fosters dialogue between researchers interested in the relationship between language and cognition, with special emphasis on facilitating various research orientations.

--> Future events

The Finnish Cognitive Linguistic Association (FiCLA) and the Finnish graduate school in Language Studies Langnet will organize a symposium Cognitive approaches to metaphors of power at University of Helsinki, 12-13 October 2006.

Note also that the 10th International Cognitive Linguistics Conference will take place in Poland in July 15-20, 2007.

--> Past events

[25 - 26 November 2005] An international symposium in Interdisciplinary Themes in Cognitive Language Research was organized by the Finnish Cognitive Linguistics Association FiCLA and the Cognitive Science Unit of the University of Helsinki.

The main subject of the symposium was the mutual relevance of empirical cognitive science and cognitive linguistics. FiCLA has been promoting and supporting the collaboration between linguistics and the other cognitive sciences from its inception in 1999. Now the association wishes to approach the common scientific basis from an up-to-date point of view.

[14 June 2005] The COGNITIVISM MEETS DYNAMISM workshop, focusing on linguistic semantics. Venue: Helsinki University of Technology, Espoo, Finland. The workshop was organised in connection with the AKRR'05 conference on Adaptive Knowledge Representation and Reasoning.

--> Contact information

FiCLA board 2006-2007

Jaakko Leino (firstname.surname at
University of Helsinki

Vice president
Timo Honkela
Helsinki University of Technology

Secretary and treasurer
Anni Jääskeläinen
University of Helsinki

Vice secretary
Heli Tissari (
University of Helsinki

Pauli Brattico (
University of Helsinki

Michaela Prn (
bo Akademi University

Tiina Onikki-Rantajääskö (
University of Helsinki